Dave Gardner’s “Thank God It’s Monday” 31OCT11

October 31, 2011

“Thank God It’s Monday” is to help companies thrive!

This week’s focus: business execution

I.T. is a critical enabler of businesses. There is, on occasion, friction between I.T. and business process owners about how to move forward to solve critical business challenges.

I recently interviewed four education Chief Information Officers in an effort to understand their culture and values and see if there is a contrast with what I have experienced in the private sector.Here are some best practices that will improve collaboration between I.T. and business teams:

  • Business process owners would appreciate I.T. collaborating with them while working to minimize friction.
  • Business process owners want I.T. to be part of the same team, not merely blocking and tackling the people who are responsible for day-to-day execution of a critical process.
  • Business process owners want I.T. to get excited about solving real problems and spend a lot less energy pushing back on the business requirements.
  • Business process owners want I.T. and their teams to win together.

If this culture of collaboration is engendered, everyone will thrive.

[Note: You can read my entire Fast Company blog post here.]

Thought for the week:

“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” – Leonardo da Vinci

What do you think? I welcome your blog comments!

___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting

http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2011 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.