Great Stuff But Who Has Time For It?

 

8317353105_b56290c049_m

When I consulted for a Fortune 50 company, I noticed the constant bombardment of emails to the sales team from the marketing team.

The incoming emails had to feel like incoming missiles to be dodged on a daily basis. Oh, sure, they had the engineering specs, the use cases, customer testimonials–everything you’d need to be successful if only the messages were opened and read which they weren’t.

If you were a sales person, what would you focus on? I’d focus on meeting quota and focusing on what my sales manager told me was important. I wouldn’t have time to read and digest all the incoming messages. I would sell what I understood and that would likely mean not selling the latest, greatest stuff unless my sales manager insisted I do so.

Sales and customers live in a very noisy world. What are you going to do to stand out and be heard? Of what value is innovation if you aren’t heard?

You need to have the mindset of making the complex simple for those with whom you need support.

Photo Credit: Kevin Dooley, Flickr

Thought for the week:

“Success isn’t a result of spontaneous combustion. You must set yourself on fire.” – Arnold H. Glasow
__
What do you think? I welcome your comments!
___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2015 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  This posting is based on my weekly “Thank God It’s Monday” that helps you and your company thrive! To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

Leave a comment