Self-Esteem & Self-Talk

8374723902_c18be5fd84_m

 

Note: This posting is based on my weekly “Thank God It’s Monday” that helps you and your company thrive!

This week’s focus: self-esteem

I overheard an executive assistant (after giving her boss an idea) say, “I’m just an executive assistant.”

What struck me was the notion that a person gives energy to “I’m just a ____.” Perhaps she was kidding. But what if she believes it? What does “I’m just a _____” do to one’s psyche?

  • It diminishes a person’s ability to feel good about contributing ideas
  • It demeans a person’s value add to the organization
  • It disempowers the person–it puts them in a box that they think they need to stay and know their place

“I’m just a ____” isn’t:

  • Uplifting
  • Empowering
  • Engaging

As Prentice Mulford offered as a book title in 1908, “Thoughts Are Things,” our thoughts impact our behavior and engender feelings about who we are and what we represent in our world.

If you ever think to yourself, “I’m just a ____,” I hope you’ll think again and reframe who you are in a positive way. This will help you thrive.

Photo credit: _scartissue on Flickr.com

 

 

Thought for the week:

The most dangerous phrase in the language is “we’ve always done it this way.”  – Rear Admiral Grace Hopper
__
What do you think? I welcome your comments!
___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2014 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

Share

One Response to Self-Esteem & Self-Talk

  1. “I’m just a ___” how dis-empowering. You are right. How great it would be if everyone’s ideas were at least heard before they were dismissed. Just thing of the innovative ideas that are missed because “Just a ___” came up with the idea. I got one of my best lessons from a chain-smoking lady truck driver.

    Like

Leave a Reply

