Feature Bloat–Where Is Product Management?

Note: This posting is based on my weekly “Thank God It’s Monday” which is offered to help companies thrive!

This week’s focus: product management

This past week, I saw the latest release for a company’s software. I was stunned–but not in a good way. The product has become so bloated with its 800 features that I wonder if they’ve ruined their product and their company.

As I thought about all my clients over the years–ranging from start-ups to Fortune 50–I considered where I would interject this solution. I’m hard pressed to see this as the best solution in departments and organizations I’ve worked with. That’s not good.

One of my colleagues asked if customers had requested these changes. The executives insisted they had. Really?

Product management is a critical (yet, often absent) function that should drive the evolution of products and product lines. Product management carefully considers input from customers, sales, dealers, marketing, engineering and customer service and, then, creates a product road map that addresses their customers evolving needs.

More is not always more. Complexity makes my eyes glaze over. If you want to thrive, don’t make your customers and prospects eyes glaze over.

Thought for the week:

“There exist limitless opportunities in every industry. Where there is an open mind, there will always be a frontier.” – Charles Kettering

What do you think? I welcome your blog comments!

___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting

http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2012 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

Share

Leave a Reply

