Joy and the customer experience

Note: This posting is based on my weekly “Thank God It’s Monday” which is offered to help companies thrive!

This week’s focus: customer experience

When I arrived at the Caltrain station in Sunnyvale, the one hundred or so of us who exited the train saw a young mother and her 2-year old daughter waiving wildly to greet us. You couldn’t help but smile.

As I walked to the parking garage, I said hello and continued to my car as the train pulled away to its next stop. The waving stopped, the mother said, “We’ve got to go,” as she quickly put her daughter in her stroller. “There’s another train coming!”

They quickly crossed the 2 sets of tracks and within seconds a northbound train arrived. As I climbed the steps, I looked over my shoulder and, sure enough, they were repeating the same process they had when my train arrived.

While I’m sure they don’t realize it, they brought joy to all who cared to take it in. I’m sure the mother thought this was her way of entertaining her daughter but the reality is, they created far more joy than they received.

What joy do you and your company bring the world? Do you think creating joy just might help you and your company thrive?

Thought for the week:

“Most people bypass what is good and refreshing in their lives, and habitually focus on the unpleasant, bad elements.”  – Plutarch

What do you think? I welcome your blog comments!

___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting

http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2012 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

Share

Leave a Reply

