Four Seasons leadership rocks!

Note: This posting is based on my weekly “Thank God It’s Monday” which is offered to help companies thrive!

This week’s focus: business execution

I love it when I’m invited to an event at any Four Seasons.  In Silicon Valley, we’ve had our own Four Seasons in East Palo Alto since 2006.

This past week, I  reached out to the head of HR at the Four Seasons to understand how they are able to deploy such a remarkable team and provide such an incredible customer experience time and time again.  [Note: As I didn’t tell the head of HR that I was interviewing her for an article (because I wasn’t), I’m not going to share the details of my conversation. ]

However, I do want to share what happened as, it too, illustrates how the Four Seasons is able to create such a remarkable customer experience.

  • I called the hotel and simply asked to speak with the head of HR.  I was informed of her name and immediately transferred.
  • When a woman answered the phone, I simply told her my name, that I was a management consultant, and informed her who I wanted to speak with. Her response was something like, “One moment please,” and I was immediately transferred. I wasn’t interrogated about why I was calling. No blocking, no tackling, no running interference. I didn’t have to leave my phone number for a call back later. My request was fulfilled on the spot.
  • The woman I was transferred to answered her phone and we had an absolutely delightful, no-holds-barred conversation. I didn’t get her voice mail and the ensuing opportunity to leave a message–I got right through.

How often does this happen in today’s business world?  Almost never. It is so refreshing that I feel compelled to write about it.

I want to compliment the Four Seasons for superb execution on something this simple. It could have taken days to accomplish what transpired in seconds. But, it didn’t. And, the Four Seasons has created another “Wow” for me.

Are you and your company this easy to do business with?  If you are, rest assured you’ll be a stand out in your marketplace. And, if you’re not, you’ll stand out for all the wrong reasons.

Thought for the week:

“The poor, the unsuccessful, the unhappy, the unhealthy are the ones who use the word tomorrow the most.” – Robert Kiyosaki

What do you think? I welcome your blog comments!

___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting

http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2012 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

Share

Leave a Reply

