Dave Gardner’s “Thank God It’s Monday” 09JAN12

“Thank God It’s Monday” is to help companies thrive!

This week’s focus: configurable products and services

Is it all about your company–the product or service provider–or all about your customer?

If it’s all about your company, watch out! Someone will come along who is better focused on the customer and take market share from you.

How can you tell if it’s all about you?

There’s friction in the marketplace between what your company offers and what your customers really want and expect from your company.

Friction will keep your company from thriving.

Thought for the week:

“Brands exist as a means of communicating what to expect from a product or service–or to highlight the family likeness between different products and services. An established brand on a new product is a guarantee that what you’re getting will be, in its own way, like something you’ve enjoyed before. “ – Sir Richard Branson, Business Stripped Bare

What do you think? I welcome your blog comments!

___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting

http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2012 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

One Response to Dave Gardner’s “Thank God It’s Monday” 09JAN12

  1. “There’s friction in the marketplace between what your company offers and what your customers really want and expect from your company.”

    You know why I think that happens unintentionally, Dave — because it’s something I struggled with last year? When we’re trying to take our clients/customers somewhere they don’t want to go!

    I was trying to force my former clients to share the same values and goals as myself…and they just didn’t. That was a wake-up call for me, to realize there are some clients I’m just not meant to serve…because we don’t want the same outcomes. It’s what Seth Godin talks about with tribes…I wasn’t working with mine and hadn’t realized it.

    Once I re-branded, I started attracting new clients who are more like me than the old ones were…so I feel a deeper affinity with them, which makes it easier for me to focus on their needs, not my own!

    So I’d suggest to anyone who is focused more on their company and less on their customers to ask themselves honestly: do you really like/want/get fulfillment from serving those customers? If not, then find those that make you super-excited and eager to serve 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

