Dave Gardner’s “Thank God It’s Monday” 05SEP11

“Thank God It’s Monday” is to help companies thrive!

This week’s focus: remembering

In 6 days, we pause to remember the 10th anniversary of the September 11th terrorist attack on our great nation.

Ten years ago, I lived in Marlborough, Massachusetts. I was in my home office the morning of September 11th listening to the Don Imus radio program and looking out at the bluest, cloud-free sky you could ever imagine.

Don Imus alerted me to the first plane hitting the World Trade Center. Imus and his team speculated that it must have been a small, sightseeing plane. I flipped on the television on my desk, muted the sound, and made a call to a prospect at Wyeth Pharmaceuticals in Rhode Island.

I was on the phone as I witnessed the second plane hit the World Trade Center on live television. Later, I recall gasping “Oh, my God,” and then being unable to speak during a phone conversation with Sally Mitchell at her VelQuest office in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, as the first of the Twin Towers collapsed. I immediately realized I had no future in live, news broadcasting.

Nearly 3000 lives were lost that day, including 343 New York City firefighters who valiantly saved as many lives as they could.

I’ll be performing Taps next Sunday on the 10th anniversary at an event honoring veterans. I can’t tell you what an honor it is to be able to play Taps at any time, but, particularly on the 10th anniversary of 9/11. It’s a 24-note, 60-second performance that has intense meaning for our active duty soldiers, veterans and their families. I’m hope the vets won’t mind if I include the FDNY firefighters in my musical tribute.

We aren’t the same country we were 10 years ago:

  • We’re involved in 2, never-ending wars with uncertain criteria for what victory looks like that have added immensely to our national debt, cost over 5,000 lives, and resulted in the wounding–many with life-changing injuries–of in excess of 30,000 of our military personnel.
  • Our economy is unable to produce sufficient jobs for those who want to work.
  • Our politicians are more deeply divided than at any point in my lifetime, and, at a time when real leadership is needed.

I hope on this 10th anniversary of 9/11 that our nation can come together and once again find a path that allows all of us to thrive.

Thought for the week:

“If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading.” – Lao Tzu


What do you think? I welcome your blog comments!

___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting

http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2011 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

Leave a Reply

