Dave Gardner’s “Thank God It’s Monday” 30MAY11

“Thank God It’s Monday” is to help companies thrive!

This week’s focus: business execution

Paul Dunn shared the following insight at a seminar I attended in Australia back in 1994:“We are rewarded to the extent we add value to other people’s lives.”

I’ve never forgotten this nor have I ever lost contact with this thought since.  This is true for entrepreneurs, solopreneurs, businesses, and individuals.

What are the rewards? They can come in many forms: a simple thank you, financial or economic remuneration, the outcome related to good deeds, a referral, etc.

If you aren’t happy with the rewards you or your company is receiving, one need only assess the value you are providing. How might this compelling thought help you and/or your company thrive?

Thought for the week on Memorial Day 2011:

“There are many memories of my time in Vietnam in 67-68, but one in particular stands out for this Memorial Day.  During the siege of Khe San, one day at Da Nang airbase, I was driving a vehicle alone on the north end of the runway.  As I headed across toward the Marine side (west), I stopped dead about 50 yards from a hangar where I saw the stack of body bags.  I stayed there and let the emotions rage through me for just a few minutes. For all of those guys and the friends I grew up with who were lost during that time, thank you.”  – Ronald Ferrill, Vietnam War Veteran

To Ron Ferrill and all who have served their country, I say “Thank you for your service.”

What do you think? I welcome your blog comments!

___

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2011 Gardner & Associates Consulting  All Rights Reserved

Note:  To receive an email version of “Thank God It’s Monday” to start your week, please subscribe here.  I would very much appreciate your suggesting to others that they subscribe.

Privacy Statement:  Our subscriber lists are never rented, sold, or loaned to any other parties for any reason.

Leave a Reply

