How do you price your pizza?

It’s 4 pm and I’ve got a 5:30 pm meeting at the house with my wife.  The light lunch I’d had a few hours earlier is wearing thin.

I’m thinking I’ll stop by Premier Pizza in Santa Clara on my way home and grab 4 different slices of pizza to go.  My wife is a vegetarian; my mother-in-law and I are both carnivores.  So, being able to mix and match different slices is appreciated.

Premier Pizza is a tremendous value at $3.75 per slice.  Here’s what happened in the store.

Me:  I’d like to get 4 slices of pizza to go.

Cashier:  I can only sell you 3 slices.  If you want a fourth, I’ll have to charge you for a whole pizza.

Me: Huh?

Cashier:  They are really big slices.  I can only sell you 3 slices.  If you want a 4th, I have to charge you for a whole pizza.

Me: You’re kidding, right?

Cashier: No

Me: How much is a whole pizza?

Cashier:  About $20.

Me:  So, I can buy 3 slices for less than $12 but a forth slice is an additional $8?

Cashier:  Right.  Each slice is really big.

Me:  I’ll take 3 slices.  You realize I’m going to have to write a blog piece about this.

Cashier:  Okay.

But, the slices are really big.  Sure.  And, tasty, too.

Dave Gardner, Gardner & Associates Consulting

http://www.gardnerandassoc.com

© 2010 Gardner & Associates Consulting All Rights Reserved

2 Responses to How do you price your pizza?

  1. I love this story. You simply cannot make it up! Now go out this weekend and find us some more fun stories.

    Like

  2. Sally says:

    This situation is SO annoying. I run into it frequently. I handle it 2 ways. 1. Insist on speaking to the manager (person in charge)Buy the 3 slices, put them in your car and go back to buy 1 slice. 2. Leave the store and go to a competitor.
    My 2 cents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

